2014 – A Year in Review

I have seen a few other authors do this on their own sites, so thought I would do the same. 2014 has been a productive year. I have managed to write something every month, with a rough estimate or around 50,000 or so total words over that period. Most of the year was spent working on my eventual submission to the From Out of the Dark anthology. The hard work paid off with it being accepted for publication. It should see it out for sale sometime early this year. There was also a very late submission for another anthology that closed on the 31st December. I am yet to hear back on it, as at last count there were nearly 1,200 submissions. Hopefully my story will stand out from the rest and be accepted.

The Writers Group has grown in membership, plus joining forces with the local ABC Open Project representative. Daniel has been great with this, giving us some great tips on writing not only fiction, but also on writing for real world and online. We put on another Word Art exhibition, this time at the Berri Library. The number of hits on our blog went up considerably with the use of QR codes on each artwork and respective written piece.

This year I plan to finally finish off my first novel plus a horror novella. In the mean time, I am currently packing to move back to Adelaide, which means I will be saying farewell to the Riverland Creative Writing Group at some stage. Hopefully, I will also be accepted into the TAFE course that I applied for in November.

On the reading front, to aid with being familiar with horror tropes, I have started to gather a small collection of horror novels, particularly works by Stephen King. A total of 9 books were completed, also nearly finished The Stand by King. The total was less than the previous year of 13 but as most of them this time were quite lengthy, it balances out.

All in all, a good year and hopefully 2015 will be bigger and better.

Leave a Reply

